The Final Fifty











{May 15, 2013}   Another Week, Another Run Regimen

Last night I started week three of the Zombies, Run! 5k training app. This week really cranked it up a notch. Here’s the plan:

  1. 5 min warmup brisk walk
  2. 5 min free run
  3. 1 min run/1 min walk/10 knee lifts x 5
  4. 8 min free run
  5. 2 min stretching
  6. 8 min free run

After my flippant reaction to last weeks upping of the ante, I looked at this one and was, honestly, pretty intimidated by it. It doubles the duration of each run, lessens the duration of walking in between, and the extended free runs, to my mind, are opportunities to push myself to increase my running endurance past what the app strictly demands of me. I also knew the two minutes of stretching would make my speed/pace go down, which is discouraging to see, even when you know it’s coming.

Knowing all of that, that my endurance would really be tested in terms of overall time and not just individual intervals, I tried really hard to pace myself so that I wouldn’t end up wearing myself out too bad to finish. And finish I did. I made it to 3.1 miles, or almost exactly 5k, in just over 46 minutes. My overall speed and per mile time went down a bit, but when I subtract out the 2 minutes of stretching, it’s almost as good as it was in my most recent workout, which I think is pretty good, since it was a much harder slog this time.

There were a couple of times when the app clearly hiccuped a bit, and I’d be running for 45 seconds to a minute before the voice chimed in to say I’d already gone a whole 15 seconds (I listen to music the whole time, and I can gauge time somewhat that way.) I don’t know if it really lost contact with the mother ship during those times, because when I ran that distance before it came in as a full tenth of a mile longer, but I’m not too worried about it as long as I’m actually getting out and doing it.

I think that I can push myself harder the next few times and hopefully still keep improving my speed from what I did last night. Each time I keep doing as much as I can do, and each time what I can do gets a bit better. My legs are definitely not liking me very much right now, lol. (No, I’m not injured, but building endurance requires *carefully* pushing past what’s easy, which is what I’m trying to do – I take it easy when I start to feel discomfort.)

Leave a Reply

et cetera
