The Final Fifty











{May 6, 2013}   It Was Bound to Happen Sooner or Later…

I suppose it was inevitable that eventually I would have a bad week. It wasn’t disastrous, really, I gained 1 lb., mostly of muscle (my body fat percentage still nudged down a little bit.)

I know why it happened. I got a little too blase about the calorie restriction. By my calculations I hadn’t gone over on any given day once my exercise was taken into account, but I cut it closer than I usually do. I also ate more bread products than I have in quite a while, and there was a lot of eating outside the house where I have less control over my food. I think that running is what prompted the addition of almost a pound of muscle, too.

I have a tiny little sad, but I’m letting it go and just getting things back under control now. I think it’s a reminder of why I cut out most grains to begin with, so I’m going to try to be better about that again. I’m going to keep running, and I’m going to be much more careful about the calorie control. My measurements, at least, stayed the same.

I also got a bike this weekend! It’s a 14.5″ Giant Boulder, and it was only $95. It’s not quite as pretty as the new Giant was, but it saved me at least $200. I bought a new seat for it, so that brought it up a little bit, but I think it will greatly increase my enthusiasm for riding it. My friend helped me pick it out, and I took it for a spin last night to check it out. That was pre-new seat, so my medial assal region is experiencing a bit of angry today, but it was exciting to get out and really ride for a bit. The last time I rode a bike was about 5 years ago, and that was only a beach cruiser, so I couldn’t do much but flat roads. This one is a bit more versatile with 21 speeds, so I think I’ll be able to get more use out of it.

I am also proud of myself that I did this the more responsible way and started with a used bike instead of dropping $350 on a brand new bike prematurely. A few years ago I would have done that, and risked wasting more money than necessary just because it was newer and prettier. I think that’s an improvement.

Saturday I got my third run in, finishing out week 1 of Zombies, Run! 5k, and being pursued by my first zombie. Silly as it may sound, that part was surprisingly motivating for me. It isn’t that I expect a zombie apocalypse to happen, but it doesn’t hurt to be reminded that running can be a useful skill in practical ways that are not limited to fitness. My pace increased a little bit this time, too, and I think it was partly to do with not losing the sweet assault rifle I picked up outside the camp.

So, back on the horse.

Good for you it is always great to gain muscle, if I gain weight on the scale I put on a pair of jeans to see if they or loose or tight. Just so I do not have an anxiety attack from scale weight gain. I have been riding my bike to work and I lost five pounds last month biking burns a lot of calories…



Yeah, I track more than just weight, so I know my measurements haven’t gone up or anything. To be honest, and this is a little silly, but my weight graph just had such a nice, unbroken downward slope, and this is just a blip on it, but I’m such a data nerd, lol.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
