The Final Fifty











{April 30, 2013}   A Cause for Optimism

So, inadvisable as it most certainly was given my throat congestion and history of asthma, I tried the Zombies RUN! app last night. Here’s how the workout breaks down:

  • 10 minutes walking. And not casual stroll walking, fast walking that leaves you just a little bit out of breath.
  • 10 repeats of the following: 1 minute walking, 15 seconds running.
  • 10 minutes free run, where you run or walk at your choice, depending on how tired or masochistic you happen to be feeling.

It went quite a bit better than I had anticipated. It turns out even I can’t get winded in 15 seconds. I kept going farther instead of turning around halfway through, figuring that I could cool myself down more at the end on the way home. So, all told, I went for just over 52 minutes and traveled a total of 3.21 miles.

I’m not sure how I feel about adding on so much to the duration. I should probably have turned around earlier, because I was worn out and starting to hurt a little on the way back, and I still had to keep going. On the other hand, I am mostly fine today (except when I’ve been sitting for too long), so maybe it was good and sort of forced me to keep going past where I was comfortable.

It’s honestly the first experience I’ve had with running at all where my lower body suffers more than my lungs do, so this is a new limiting factor for me. I know that running to the high school and back doesn’t kill me the next day, so maybe I’ll use that as my bench mark from now on and see how it goes.

The app itself is pretty great, though I haven’t gotten too far into the story line. It plays messages for you, radio advert style, and the rest of the time it plays music from your phones playlists. I liked that a lot, because music helps the time pass more quickly and distracts you from the work you’re doing.

I think I could really get into running, at least recreationally. It was so nice to be working out and be outside in the fresh air. I suppose I could make that happen with a bike, too, which I am also interested in, but my bike is in California, and I gave it to my sister since getting it out here would be more trouble than it’s worth. Also, it only had one speed anyway, which was fine when I just wanted to move at all, but now it would be a bit limiting. I might start trolling Craigslist to see if there are any bikes for sale.

Today after work I’m planning to do ballet to help me stretch out between running days. I’m getting to the point now where there are more and more activities I want to do, and I’m running out of time to fit them in. I figure a bike I could fit in by replacing bus trips with it, but I’ll see what it will cost first and then go from there.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
