The Final Fifty











{March 30, 2013}   Brussels Sprouts Update, Blood Pressure Test, Farmer’s Market, and Dalliances with Fish

I tried the other recipe for Brussels sprouts the other night, and they were fantastic! They were nice and crisp and tender, and even though I only added a little sprinkling of cheese, it tasted indulgent. I am so excited, because not only did DBF try them and like them, but I can officially put them in the “veggies I am excited about” category instead of the “I’ll eat it, but it’s not my favorite” category.

Yesterday, I was not very successful at all in terms of exercise. I didn’t dance or do weights, but we did a bit of walking going to our friends’ place and back again for movie night. Also! They had edamame out to snack on, so I tried it, and I loved it! Now I know what to get for my own parties and to take with me to others’. I also might have to look into recipes using edamame.

So today I got up, did 30 minutes of belly dance drills, and then three full circuits of my weights routine. Not such a big load of stuff, but it satisfied me that I’m not being too terribly lazy. The thing I love most about the calorie restriction is that, if I’m beat down tired, I don’t have to exercise every day and I can still lose weight. I am finally making progress on my lunges, which are the toughest one for me. Also, my friend has some 10 lb. dumbbells she said I can borrow if she can find them.

Today I also went to the farmer’s market with one of my friends. It’s only a mile or so away, and now that it’s getting to be warm and lovely out, we decided to walk. I had a veggie samosa there for lunch, which was delicious, and I picked up some locally grown carrots and sweet potatoes, as well as some smoked salmon. I’ve never had smoked salmon before, and this is really the first time I’ve set out to try fish, but we got to sample it, so I went ahead and picked some up. It tastes pretty good, though it’s not a flavor or texture I’m used to just yet.

On the way out of the farmer’s market, we stopped at a booth hosted by nursing students from the local med school for a free blood pressure screening. I have never yet had trouble with my blood pressure, but high blood pressure does run in my family. That’s part of the reason I’ve always paid attention to it; my mother’s blood pressure is high, so I try to keep aware of how I’m doing. Mine is currently 114/64, which is even lower than it’s usually been, so that was reassuring to me about my health with the new eating habits and exercise.

Also, it was great to be able to have my blood pressure tested with a normal sized cuff. At my heaviest, when I was in college, they would have to get out the larger cuff to test me. Now, I can be tested comfortably with a normal cuff.

After the farmer’s market, we walked up to the Co-op and bought the rest of the stuff for dinner, and I picked up some other things as well. I’m all set to make Parmesan-Crusted Tilapia, Pan-Fried Broccoli (basically, similar to the Brussels sprouts from the other night, but with broccoli), and Quinoa.

Once all that was done, I called my mom to make the travel reservations for her and my family to come visit. Turns out she wasn’t ready to book just yet, so that part will get done tomorrow, but we talked about the eating part of things. I was hoping that, since we’re looking into suites, one of which offers a full and equipped kitchen, that I might be able to just make dinner most nights. In addition to the satisfaction I get from cooking for my family, this would also enable me to make sure that my eating doesn’t get totally out of control while they’re here.

She marveled a bit over how much my diet has changed, and reminded me that restricting myself too much isn’t good. I’ve thought about it a bit since we hung up, though, and I don’t feel restricted. It isn’t that I’m so worried about maybe not losing weight that week or whatever, but I don’t want to derail my new habits so much that it takes a long time for me to recover. I’ll find ways to compromise a bit so we can go places they want to eat, but I still just wish I could cook dinner every night.

Kristine says:

Re the cuff — I had to insist that they test me with the large size cuff all throughout both of my pregnancies, because even though I didn’t look heavy, my arms were too big for the small cuff. Total misnomer that only fat girls need the big cuff — just the girls with fat arms. 😀 Honestly, even now, I might have to ask for the bigger cuff at my checkup, whenever I get around to scheduling it.



Yeah, my arms are thick even at the best of times, it’s part of my fun genetic gift package, lol. My sister HAAATES the family arms, and I do too, though I’ve learned to live with it. That’s part of why I was so excited that the regular sized cuff fit with so much room to spare.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
