The Final Fifty











{March 28, 2013}   Shoes (OMG SHOES), Brussels Sprouts, and Here Comes the Sun

At some point over the last few months, I’ve realized a few things about my feet.

First of all, even though for YEARS I haven’t been able to wear anything that even came close to constricting my toes, this seems to be getting better for me. I don’t know if that’s an indication that (what I assumed was) nerve damage is actually improving or not, but it’s kind of exciting. Between this and losing weight, I’ve also discovered that my size is now smaller than before. I’ve been going between a 9.5 and a 10.5 for years. I’m not pretty consistently a 9, with some brands running a bit smaller, where I *might* need a 9.5. Maybe.

I also realized recently that my feet are strong enough to wear heels again. Not just kitten heels either. I’m not going to put on a 5″ heel or anything, but a 3″ heel no longer feels like inviting most certain disaster.

The end result of this is that I find myself lusting after shoes I haven’t been able to wear in approximately. So far I’ve resisted for financial reasons, and I need to continue to resist. But I don’t want to. Pout.

Last night I roasted up some Brussels sprouts, and gave them a whirl for the first time. I liked them well enough, though they’re not my favorite. I’m not sure I prepped them right, because the outside leaves were kind of tough, while the insides were lovely and tender and moist, so I think I need to do a bit more research and figure out how to make them right.

I know that I could learn to cook things with a sauce to make them more palatable, and I might get into that eventually, but for the moment I am trying to develop a taste for things as they are, so that hopefully I can learn to eat them without too many extra calories or too much fuss.

And so far, most vegetables fall into “things I actually enjoy eating” or “things I can get down and will get used to eating”. The only thing that I suspect I can’t eat at all is spinach, and I think I want to give that one more go before I total write it off, because it’s been more than a year since I tried it, and because my tastes have changed quite a bit since then, so maybe it’ll taste better to me now.

I’m getting to a point now where my excitement about veggies is starting to wane. Not that I don’t want to eat them, but as I’ve tried more and more things and worked them in, it’s not as big of a novelty as it once was. I’m still not having cravings for the things I’ve given up, though, so I think this is just the inevitable evening-off point where the new food becomes just the food I regularly eat. It’s becoming habit, and habit is rarely always exciting.

It probably also has something to do with how busy I’ve been, because that means I don’t have as much time to spend finding new recipes to make that utilize foods that are new to me. This weekend, though, the plan is to have friends over, and to make some tilapia so that I can start trying to work fish into my diet. Maybe that will start off a new stage of excitement. I hope so, it would be helpful to keep the thrill going for another few months, if I can.

I’ve gotten to the point with weights that I need to either start adding additional circuit repeats, or increase the weight. I’ve started slowing down and really working on mastering good form with everything, and it definitely ups the difficulty substantially, but I’m not getting the muscle soreness the day after like I used to, so I think that in order to feel that challenge, I need to up the ante a bit. I’m hoping to pick up some 8 or 10 lb dumbbells soon so that I can start going a bit heavier. Still, the lunges are kicking my butt, and I think I’ll stick with the 5 lb dumbbells for that for a while.

Also, herald the trumpets, but it finally seems to be warming up around here, and the sun has been out, and I cannot freaking wait to go outside with no jacket and feel the sun on my skin. I want to walk everywhere without worrying about slipping and falling and dying. I want to be able to feel my feet consistently, lol.

I also can’t wait for the farmers market to move outdoors, and to be open every week. Oh, the veggies I shall eat! OMNOMNOMNOM

Leave a Reply

et cetera
