The Final Fifty











{March 26, 2013}   Sugar Would Have Killed Me

So, the other day on Facebook, a friend linked to this: What 100 Calories of Your Favorite Easter Candy Actually Looks Like.

Y’all, this article actually knocked the wind out of me. Most candy I can take or leave, and I could even before. But I was prone to bouts of weakness where chocolate is concerned, and Cadbury Mini Eggs used to be my favorites. I could easily plow through those things by the handful. Seriously, I imagine in one sitting, I would not be surprised if I sometimes consumed at least 10 servings without even paying attention. Not all the time, I was trying to not be stupid, at least, but enough to make me cringe pretty hard right now.

I can’t find any stats on how much total sugar is healthy to consume, everything I find regards added sugar, so sugar you either add or is added to pre-made food. But they’re all pretty consistent in saying you shouldn’t eat any more than maybe 25 g of added sugar per day. You’d hit that in 12 Cadbury Mini Eggs. Go ahead and estimate how often people actually limit themselves to 12 Mini Eggs. I know it was not a frequent occurrence for me.

And diabetes runs in my family. So do heart disease, obesity, cancer. Hell, I had Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, which is related to insulin resistance and commonly thought to be a precursor to diabetes. I knew, with complete and total certainty, that I was high risk for diabetes. I might still be high risk. At some point, I need to face the music and go to a doctor and have my blood tested, and probably take a good look at what the fall out is from all the damage I piled on myself for all those years. I hope that getting healthy now will minimize the impact, but if I’d just been smart enough to do this years ago, I’d already be there, weight and health wise. But I can’t change the future. I can only learn everything I can to make sure I don’t go back there.

It’s been more than a month now since I stopped consuming added sugar. I no longer need it or want it, and I am, at least for the present, so stubborn about it that I just don’t care that I can have up to 24 g per day. I don’t want it at all. Because it’s like a trojan horse: once you let it into your body, it will find a way to manipulate you into letting all it’s little friends in along with it.

Last night I did my weight routine, and I feel nothing at all today. I need to up the number of reps, and at some point pick up heavier weights, which I’m going to look at on the way home today.

Also! I can confirm that the curry soup is really really good with roasted cauliflower. OMNOMNOMNOM. The plan this week is to try Brussels sprouts, and then fish this weekend. SO EXCITED.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
