The Final Fifty











{March 14, 2013}   I Think I May Have Beaten Sugar.

It’s been nearly a full month now since I ate the last sugary thing and called a halt. It was easier than I thought it would be, though I’m not sure why it was easy. I know with certainty that there have been points in my life that it would NOT have been this easy, so it seems like this is another mental switch that flipped for no apparent reason.

Part of me feels like I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop. I know that, with time, I might encounter difficulties, or hit streaks where I don’t have the energy to care about what I put in my body. My hope is that, by the time the next one of those occurs, I’ll have established healthy habits long enough that they will withstand even the weakest moments.

I think I might have slid into a decision to not drink anymore. Not consciously, or for any particular reason, but I’m having a party for St. Patrick’s Day, and I’ve come to realize that I just don’t want to drink. I have very few inhibitions when sober, and none that I need to shed to have fun or participate in the things I would normally participate in while drunk. The only drinks I tend to like are sweeter and therefor higher in calories, and like I said before, my craving for sweet has gone and I don’t want to invite it back. If I liked wine I might feel differently, because there is at least some benefit to drinking wine. We’ll see how it goes. For most of my adult life I’ve been the voluntary designated driver anyway, so this won’t be a big change.

Today we went out to lunch for work because a new person has just joined us. It’s a nice little cafe with lots of gluten free and other healthy options, so I got an apple quinoa burger with a side of kale and a bowl of sweet potato apple soup (which was crazy delicious). The burger ended up having things in it that were not on the menu, but I went ahead and tried it and I liked it okay. I’m not a big fan of onions, at least when they’re not cooked, but they weren’t bad in this. This is kinda significant, because two months ago or more that would have ruined the meal for me.

Yesterday evening I was really tired when I got home, and I almost didn’t dance, but I struck a bargain with myself that I would start it, and do my best for as long as I could. I got a half hour in of belly dance, but it was a good, solid effort, and I danced more at rehearsal, so I think I got about an hour of real dancing in.

I think that’s a good compromise on tired days. Try it, do as well as you can for as long as you can, and be honest with yourself about what is serious fatigue and what is just a bit of lazy creeping up on you.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
