The Final Fifty











{March 7, 2013}   Add another veggie to the list.

Last night I made kabocha curry soup from scratch, and it was delicious. Also, it’s a more than suitable replacement for the curry sauce I made last weekend, and it’s full of nutrients and fiber, and way, way lower in both calories and fat. We have a winner! It was so hot, lol. It’s a good thing DBF and I both like spicy so much, but it was sort of at the limit for the hottest I’d want to go.

Our roommate and her friend were making a frittata with kale, onion, and potato. She gave me a little piece of blanched kale to try, and I really liked it! It’s got sort of a warm, nutty flavor to it. I’d been told it’s like spinach, which I can’t eat because it tastes exactly like an ashtray to me, so I was a little skeptical. But super glad I tried it, because it was awesome. It was even better in the context of the frittata, so I will have to work that into my cooking repertoire.

It’s so silly that I spent so long avoiding vegetables. Have you ever gone back and read letters or journal entries that you wrote in high school, and just been totally embarrassed by them or just felt like you wish you could go back in time and teach yourself a thing or two? That’s how I feel about this whole thing. I guess I had to be really ready to try them with an open mind, but I wish I could have affected that change a long time ago. Now it’s like someone just introduced me to food all over again. There are so many things I want to try, and recipes I want to make, and it’s all more exciting than I ever expected. I just feel like I’m about 20 years late to the party.

Aside from the vegetables, I’m still trying to suss out the rest of the parameters for my diet/eating plan. I know the following:

  • Get to a point where most of what I eat is fruit or veggies
  • Cut out refined carbs. This one is really, really hard, so it’s not an absolute rule, but when it comes to preparing food for myself, I don’t buy it or use it, and I will do my best to avoid them when out. I need to investigate some alternatives, like almond flour, etc. I did pick up some whole rolled oats to use in a few recipes, but again, not going to use them a lot, and they are very minimally processed.
  • Especially cut out sugar and artificial sweeteners. Again, hard, but getting easier. I’ve even cut out honey, which isn’t bad, it just has a lot of calories and I need to use it sparingly.
  • Be mindful of calories and portion sizes.
  • When possible, adapt recipes to be lower in fat and sugar. Also, try to stick to more natural stuff most of the time, so less baked goods and whatnot.

Right now I am six weeks into this, which is good work so far, but it takes a long time to forge habits. I’ve read somewhere that if you can make a change for 3 months, you can make it stick forever, butI suspect its different with food, because it’s not something you can just avoid, like alcohol. I might have to always be a big stubborn about eating healthy, but I feel like I’ve made a pretty big change in mindset, so I’m hopeful that it will stick.

Last night I did belly dance, and manage to twinge something in the back of my shoulder. I’ve been stretching it out all day, and it’s resolving well, so I’m not worried about it.  It’s obvious muscular, so I’m just being gentle, but still stretching it frequently. I’m still feeling tired and having a hard time motivating myself to dance every night, but I’m trying to not let those impulses affect me. If I don’t let myself go through the mental process of deciding whether or not do it, and I just treat it like an inevitability rather than something negotiable, then I find  it easier to just follow the routine. Doesn’t always yield a great ho ur of dance, but not every day can be great. Tonight is crazy busy, starting with grocery shopping, then ballet, and finally trivia tonight with friends.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
