The Final Fifty











{March 3, 2013}   In which the momentum tries to wane.

This has been a bad week. Not terrible, I haven’t lost progress or anything, but it’s one of those weeks where everything has been a struggle. I’ve had to force myself to dance every day, I’ve had to force myself to not overeat every day, to not snack on every chocolatey thing, not to just curl up on the couch and veg out in front of the TV all damn day.

In the end I lost a pound and half an inch around my waist. It’s not the end of the world, but I can’t help but be a bit disappointed. My body fat percentage snuck up a tiny bit (like .03 percent) because I lost some lean mass along with a little bit of fat.)

It is so easy to want to say fuck it and have a day where I just eat crap and worry about it tomorrow, but I’ve been working so damned hard to not just diet, but to reform my habits. So I’m not going to. Because if I eat something sugary, it’s just going to prolong me having to deal with the sweet cravings. I’ve made an executive decision that I’m going to finish off the last of that pint of Ben and Jerry’s frozen yogurt (1 serving to go), spread out the gluten/dairy free lo cal dark chocolate pudding, and leave the girl scout cookies for the party and maybe a very very occasional treat after that. But I have been doing too damn well to backslide on sugar, and I want to kick this now.

I went out and got myself a teapot to keep at work, and then I stocked up on some loose-leaf teas that I am learning to enjoy with no sugar or honey. The longer I go without sugar, the sweeter natural things taste to me, and that is probably the healthiest change I have ever made for myself. Even if I never lose another pound, kicking the sugar habit is a worthwhile change.

I think I need to make a point of looking at my overall success at making healthy choices instead of just losing weight and inches.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
