The Final Fifty











{March 3, 2013}   I found the bright side.

I looked over my spreadsheet again. For the first time in my adult life, my waist to hip ratio dipped below .85. I’m at just a smidge under .84. This might now sound like a big deal, but it is. .85 is the cutoff, above which you are likely to have higher risk of just about every lifestyle disease. Also, I can tell you with some degree of certainty that this ratio is very hard to change. It tends to be pretty stable throughout life, and is largely genetically determined because it measures how/where your body tends to store fat. I seem to have passed from the “apple-shaped” category to the “avocado shaped” category. This doesn’t exactly put me in ideal range yet, but it proves to me that this is something I can change, even if it’s only a little bit.

A doctor once told me that fat around the midsection was a sign of insulin resistance, i.e. that your body doesn’t respond to insulin as well as it should, so your body has to produce more insulin to deal with less sugar, and this causes you to put on more weight, which causes you to become even more insulin resistant. It’s a self-perpetuating cycle, if you don’t put on the breaks. It goes part and parcel with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, which I have (or, at least, I used to.) I don’t know for certain that I can still avoid diabetes. It runs in my family and at the very least I’ve been flirting with it for more than a decade. But if I do avoid it, it’s by stopping that feedback loop: cutting out sugar, being active, and losing weight.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
