The Final Fifty











{February 19, 2013}   On the rules, the goals, and today.

In my last post, I talked about establishing reasonable rules that you can actually stick to for a lifetime rather than just until you hit your goal weight. Here’s what my rules looked like last time around (based on memory, I might have forgot a few of them):

  1. Portion Sizes: Eat one portion size (or one per item, if a full meal) at a time. Wait 30 minutes. If still hungry, supplement in a reasonable fashion (i.e., maybe not another whole plate, maybe another serving of one thing.)
  2. Limit refined carbs. So, little to no pasta, bread, cereal, etc. Within reason. Sometimes they’re hard to avoid.
  3. Eat mostly fruit, nuts, lean meats. (I was not a veggie eater at all then. I’m working on that part now.)
  4. Switch from 2% milk to 1% milk.
  5. No french fries or sodas, or not more than once in any given week. These were easy things for me to give up.
  6. Exercise 3+ days a week. This was also easy for me, as I enjoy working out once I get a momentum going.

Today, my rules are similar:

  1. Portion sizes, same rule.
  2. Limit refined carbs, same rule, except that I usually have raisin bran for breakfast. It is whole grain, which is less of a problem, and it helps me get more fiber into my diet.
  3. Same thing, though I’ve added in greek yogurt, cottage cheese, and I’m learning to love some veggies, especially squash, sweet potatoes, and green beans.
  4. Again, the same. Easy change for me to make, as I hardly notice the difference.
  5. Same thing, with this additional caveat: I’m learning not to drink my calories. I never was a huge soda drinker anyway, so that part is easy, but I do love coffee with cream and sugar, tea with honey, and great big glasses of milk. Now, I mostly drink water, with the occasional 8oz glass of milk if I can fit it into my caloric intake for the day.
  6. I’m trying to dance at least 6 days a week. I can’t do weights right now due to my wrist injury, so dance is a way I can still be active without making that worse. And the more I commit to, the harder it is to leave things until another day, so it keeps me on track better.
  7. Calorie target: 1401 calories on sedentary days, adjusting using the MyNetDiary app on days when I dance or am otherwise active.

So far this is working well. I am losing around 1-2 lbs. per week so far, which is a good rate. Also, I am still losing even though there have been a few days where I’ve eaten more calories than I should (or drank them, lol.) I have felt mildly hungry, but nothing uncomfortable, and I know this is to be expected while my stomach adjusts to smaller portions of food. No headaches or anything to speak of.

My goal is to lost a total of 50 lbs. by the time my next birthday rolls around (when I’ll be 34.) 2 lbs. per week would get me there in mid-July, roughly, so I figure November is more reasonable since there will be off weeks and such to think about. I’m adding a countdown widget as soon as I post this.

Today was pretty average, though I did not dance because it was late by the time I got home and I haven’t skipped a day for about 9 days now. I did have my new favorite lunch, which is 1/2 cup cottage cheese with 1/4 cup each craisins and nuts. I’ve sometimes had the same thing with greek yogurt, but I like it better with the cottage cheese.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
